How would you respond if a person in a national media photo of the Charlottesville rally was misidentified on social media as someone in your organization and the post went viral?

Join the Northwest Arkansas chapter of Public Relations Society of America this month as Amy Schlesing, director of strategic communications for the University of Arkansas, provides an inside look at crisis communications and reputation management.

WHEN: Wednesday, March 28, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

LOCATION: The Jones Center, 922 E. Emma Ave., Springdale, AR 72764, in the Tyson Foods Executive Dining Room.

PARKING AND DIRECTIONS: Using the west parking lot (see attached map), enter through the west doors. The Tyson Foods Executive Dining Room is located about 20 yards on the left next to the new fitness center.

COST: $10 for PRSA members and PRSSA students and $20 for nonmembers. (Cost includes program and lunch.)

Register through Eventbrite or RSVP to by noon Monday, March 26.
(Note: The number of registrations dictates the number of meals purchased.)

About Our Speaker:
Amy Schlesing is director of strategic communications for the University of Arkansas and an award-winning writer. At the U of A, Amy guides strategy across the university’s primary communication channels and manages a dynamic team that includes executive and development communications, media relations, social media and research communications. Before returning to her alma mater in 2015, Amy worked as military policy aide and later as a deputy communications director in the U.S. Senate. 

Prior to delving into policy work, Amy covered the military for 10 years for the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette in Little Rock. She made seven trips to both Iraq and Afghanistan, covering both wars as an embedded reporter. She also covered the 2010 earthquake in Haiti and hurricanes Katrina and Ike. She was nominated for two Pulitzer Prizes and was awarded the Minuteman Award from the National Guard Bureau, two Katie Awards from the Dallas Press Club, the Green Eyeshade Award, the Ernie Dean Award, and other state and national awards.